david l . brown


Tel: 515-244-2141, Ext. 1002

Facsimile: 515.244-2931

Mobile: 515-240-9963



Legal assistant

Lori Seley



bar admissions

  • Iowa, 1976
  • United States Supreme Court
  • United States Court of Appeals,
    Eighth Circuit
  • United States District Court,
    Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa




  • Drake University Law School, Des Moines, Iowa (J.D., 1975), Order of the Coif (Hon.)
  • Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan (M.A., 1972)
  • Lawrence University, Appleton, Wisconsin (1969, B.A.)







America's Top 100 Attorneys LLC National Board of Trial Advocacy - Civil Certification Badge AV Preeminent Peer Rated for Highest Level of Professional Excellence 2017

DAVID L. BROWN joined the firm in 1978. Prior to joining the firm, Mr. Brown worked as an Assistant Attorney General and a Law Clerk for then Iowa Supreme Court Chief Justice, C. Edwin Moore. He practices primarily in the areas of professional negligence, commercial tort and general liability. He also has a state wide reputation in administrative practice and appellate law. He has been elected to fellowship in the American College of Trial Lawyer, the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, the International Society of Barristers, the American Board of Trial Advocates and the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers. He is the past president and current secretary-treasurer of the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers. Mr. Brown received the Award of Merit from the Iowa Bar Association in 1999 and recognized as the “Dean” of that organization in 2007. He received the Alumni of the Year award from Drake University Law School in 2004, the “Keeper of the Flame” Award from the Iowa State Bar Association in 2014; and the “Outstanding Advocate” Award from the American Board of Trial Advocates – Iowa Chapter in 2015. He has been a member of the C. Edwin Moore American Inn of Court since its creation in 1990.

read more

Mr. Brown held a three year appointment (2010-2013) as the Eighth Circuit Representative to the ABA Standing Committee on the Federal Judiciary. The 15-member Committee evaluates all nominations of Article III judges to the federal district courts, circuit courts of appeals and the United States Supreme Court, as well as various territorial district courts. He continues to do evaluations of individuals considered for judicial vacancies in federal circuits throughout the United States.

hide text

professional associations and memberships

Polk County Bar Association

  • PCB Junior Bar, 1984-1985 President
  • Lawyers Grievance Committee, 1984-1985
  • Lawyers Grievance Committee, 1988-1990
  • Judicial Nomination Commission, 1992-1998

Iowa State Bar Association

  • ISB Uniform Court Instructions Committee, 1988-2000
  • ISB Litigation Section, 1993-1996 Chair
  • ISB Task Force on Administrative Law, 1994-1998 Co-Chair
  • ISB Task Force on Courthouse Security; 2005; Co-Chair
  • ISB Blue Ribbon Committee on Legal Education and Bar Admission; 2014, Chair

American Bar Association

  • ABA House of Delegates, 1997-Present
  • ABA Standing Committee on Federal Judiciary, 2010-2013, 2020 Vice-Chair
  • ABA Standing Committee on the American Judicial System, 2016
  • ABA Board of Governors, 2017-2020
American Bar Association 2020

Other Professional Organizations

  • National Board of Trial Advocacy (Diplomate)
  • American Board of Professional Liability Attorneys (Medical/Legal Board Certified)
  • Litigation Counsel of America
  • Iowa Defense Counsel Association, 1993-1998 Board of Directors
  • International Association of Defense Counsel
  • Federation of Insurance and Corporate Counsel
  • DRI
  • Professional Liability Defense Federation
  • Iowa State Bar Foundation
  • American Bar Foundation
  • American Inns of Court (Master, C. Edwin Moore Inn of Court)
  • Lincoln Inne
  • Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, 1993-1998 Board of Governors
  • Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, 1999-2000 Vice President
  • Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, 2000-2001 President
  • Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers, 2009-present; Secretary-Treasurer
  • American College of Trial Lawyers (Past State Chair)
  • International Academy of Trial Lawyers (Current State Chair)
  • American Academy of Appellate Lawyers
  • American Board of Trial Advocates (President, Iowa Chapter, 1999-2000)
  • International Society of Barristers (Current State Chair)
  • Rules of Professional Conduct Commission, Supreme Court of Iowa, 2000-2002
  • Board of Counselors Drake University, 1980-1990; 2008-2016, 2017-
  • Iowa Board of Bar Examiners, 1995-2004 (Chair, 2002-2004)
  • Iowa Association for Justice
  • Iowa Legal Aid Foundation Board
  • American Judicature Society (National Advisory Council, 2011-2012)

honors & awards

  • Award of Merit, Iowa State Bar Association, 1999
  • Alumni of the Year, Drake Law School, 2004
  • President's Award, Iowa State Bar Association, 2005
  • President's Honorary Recognition Award as Dean of the Iowa State Bar Association, 2007
  • Illinois State University - Honorary Doctorate of Law Degree, 2014
  • “Keeper of the Flame Award”, Iowa State Bar Association, 2014
  • Outstanding Advocate Award, American Board of Trial Advocates, Iowa Chapter, 2015
  • Named to Drake University College of Law “150 in 150” list of outstanding alumni in 2015
  • "ABA Journal" - Candidate for president-elect, Board of Governors
Iowa Lawyer, Serving the Profession Cover

"Our current ABA team discusses the important issues going before the House of Delegates in order that we have a consensus when we vote on pending resolutions. Other delegations from other states that have many more delegates come to us for guidance and leadership. It truly is an honor to serve on the national legal stage representing Iowa."
David L. Brown,
Iowa ABA Delegate


past employment positions

  • Iowa Attorney General, Assistant Attorney General, 1976
  • Chief Justice C. Edwin Moore, Iowa Supreme Court, Law Clerk, 1976-1978